State election 2019

The election to the Thuringian State Parliament takes place according to the regulations of the Thuringian State Election Act (ThürLWG) and the Thuringian State Election Code (ThürLWO). The term of office lasts five years. The Thuringian state government determines the election day.

The electoral area of the state of Thuringia is divided into 44 constituencies. The city of Bad Langensalza belongs to constituency 9 - Unstrut-Hainich-Kreis II.

44 MPs are elected in the constituencies and 44 MPs from the national lists. They are elected in a general, direct, free, equal and secret election by the eligible Germans according to the principles of a proportional election connected with the choice of persons. Each voter has two votes, a first vote for the election of a constituency member, a second vote for the election of a country list.

More information can be found on the website of the State Returning Officer Thuringia and the district returning officer.