The St. Trinitatis church in today's Arboretum was built between 1734 and 1739 with travertine stones from the Marienkirche, which was destroyed in the Thirty Years' War.
In the cartouche above the main east portal, the patronage of Duke Christian von Sachsen-Weißenfels regarding the construction of the church is commemorated. The pointed arch portal on the west side provides access to the restored tombs. In contrast to the strict, symmetrically structured exterior, the rich baroque interior of the hall church surprises with the two-storey wooden gallery and the pulpit altar from 1734. The vaulted ceiling was particularly elaborately designed with baroque paintings in oval medallions and stucco work. The decor also includes the relief of a Madonna from the Marienkirche, two baroque epitaphs and an organ by Friedrich Erdmann Petersilie (1869). Extensive renovation and restoration work from 2008-2009 left the cemetery church, which had been converted into a concert church, in new splendor. The diverse musical Events promise listening pleasure in unique acoustics.
Be sure to enjoy one of the numerous concerts in the Gottesackerkirche. You can find current events in the Events calendar. The restored tombs under the church can be visited on guided tours.