The church, which was first mentioned in documents in 1272, was erected with interruptions until 1592 using blocks of local travertine. The 72.49 meter high tower with its Renaissance upper floor is the second tallest church tower in Thuringia. Two of the originally four bells in the tower still ring for worship today and indicate the time every quarter of an hour. With a remarkable diameter of 1.88 meters, Eckard Kuchen's bell from 1564 is one of the largest in Thuringia. The restored and stone dial of the one-hand watch from 1612 is a special historical component on the tower. In the interior of the nave, in addition to the neo-Gothic wall-fixed furnishings, there are also late medieval altars, a Romanesque font, the wooden coffered ceiling above the choir (1561), the pulpit from 1734, panel paintings, epitaphs and grave slabs. The organ, built in 1799 by Georg Christoph Heidenreich and redesigned in 1861 by the local organ builder Petersilie, is used for concerts and services. In the nun choir, the restored late Gothic wall paintings and the painted wooden coffered ceiling from 1519 are unique in this quality.
The tower of the market church offers a fantastic view over Bad Langensalza and the region. It can be climbed after consultation with the Marktkirche St. Bonifacii eV association.
April to October:
daily from 2 p.m. to 4 p.m.
May to September:
Organ music at the market at 12:00