From the medieval predecessor buildings of the town hall, the cross-vaulted stair tower and huge barrel vaults made of travertine have been preserved. Bricked doors can be seen on the four sides of the tower, which led to the surrounding gallery of the tower before 1711. In the tower there is still a bell from 1712. The main entrance on the east side is a portal decorated with gold-plated ornaments. Above it are a balcony and an inscription cartridge, topped with allegories of the Fama and Justitia.
The carillon with 32 bells can play 14 different melodies and sounds every day at 12 and 6 p.m. Five figures, approximately 80 cm high, appear in the triangular gable on a rigid segment of a circle and represent Bad Langensalza personalities. A advancing trumpeter quits Hermann von Salza (around 1165-1239), followed by Christoph Wilhelm Hufeland (1762-1836) and Friedrich Gottlieb Klopstock (1717-1803). The donor of the carillon is represented as a patient of Hufeland. The stucco ceiling with heraldic cartouches and niches, mighty cross vaults on the ground floor and cassette doors in the building have been preserved in the council chamber from the period of construction. Today the are in the town hall City administration and the urban gallery with changing art exhibitions.
Listen to the carillon (12:00 p.m. & 6:00 p.m.) and explore the cellar vault at one Cellar tour.
TOWN HALL FOUNTAIN
The "Wide Well" in front of the town hall made of Seeberger sandstone was completed in 1582. His chapter bears two heraldic lions, one holding the Saxon coat of arms, the other holding the city coat of arms. The travertine edging of the fountain basin and the two small travertine basins were completely renewed in 1986.